Socks on the Brain…

I am midway through creating a new beginner/novice knitting pattern design that only Wonder Woman herself could possibly finish in time for this week’s blog. I have to work today and knitting all day (although I personally LOVE the idea) is simply not an option. Hopefully I can have that ready for next week. Oh, and

it’s not a dishcloth. 😀

Meanwhile, I just signed up for a sock competition called Tour-de-Sock! This will be my very first sock competition and there is a part of me that is stoked beyond imagining and another part of me that is utterly terrified. LOL

tour-de-sock.com is where you can find the information about this FUNdraiser for Doctors Without Borders. I have joined a team that assures me that they are pretty laid back knitters (so I won’t be expected to sneeze out socks). There will be six patterns and I won’t know what they are until each respective pattern drops. The specs have been posted so I can start choosing coordinating yarns in anticipation.

Most of all, I want to get my current sock projects completed before the July 15th start date.

I’m working on a pair of black socks using the “Gimli” pattern from “The Fellowship of the Sock” book. I just want to say, “Woah, Nelly!” Knitting intricate patterns into socks in black yarn is not for the faint of heart! You need extraordinarily good lighting to be able to see. It took me a while to get it just right and boy, this pattern is a pain to fix if you make a mistake. Once I got used to it I really liked it though. This is definitely not a beginner pattern. As of today, the first sock just needs the toe grafted and I’m about half way through the heel flap on sock #2. These were far too complex for me to feel comfortable knitting two socks at a time. I absolutely love these socks. I may very well make this pattern again one day; just not in black.

The other pair of socks I’m making is called “Hermione’s Everyday Socks”.

Hermione sock progress

The challenge for me in making this easy sock pattern was not in the knitting, but in NOT obsessing about having my self striping yarn correspond exactly from one sock to the other. Don’t laugh! This was a big deal for me. See in the photo how offset the stripes are from each other from sock to sock? My normal approach is to cast on as many times as is necessary to make certain that both socks are identical. To just cast them on immediately in succession without even looking at how the colour-way was lining up was essentially b**ch slapping my desire to have control over the outcome. It may sound silly, but my heart was pounding the whole time I cast them on. As I knit each round (as you can see I cast the two socks on at the same time on two circular needles) I had to keep reminding myself to breathe. It was seriously so stressful to me that I would hold my breath for far too long. Then, once I got to the point where I could see the colour-repeat from the first sock show up in the second, all that stress dissolved. Now, I’m really enjoying them.

I feel like I conquered something in the process; and that felt fantastic!

I hope to complete both pairs of socks before Tour-de-Sock starts so they won’t distract me from focusing on the competition.

Have a wonderful week!

One thought on “Socks on the Brain…

Leave a Reply

