Spring Knitting

The sun is out, the sky is clear and a gorgeous blue. I can hear the swallows calling each other. There is a gentle breeze and if you stand in the sunshine, it feels gloriously warm. (Of course this is Revelstoke, so all that could change by the time I finish writing my blog.) When winter finally says good-bye for real and the days are consistently warm my appetite for knitting changes. It also has some real competition now that I can be out in my garden enjoying the warmer weather.

The types of yarn that attract me change when the weather gets warm. Instead of reaching for wool and acrylic blends I find myself reaching for bamboo, cotton, linen and blends that incorporate these fibres. The chunky and bulky yarns don’t appeal to me quite so much now and I find myself looking for 4-ply and DK yarns instead. That’s not to say I give up wool altogether; after all sock yarn is 4-ply, that’s light enough to work on when it’s warm outside. Although if I’m inclined to knit cotton socks, now would be the time. That having been said,

any time of year is a good time to knit socks as far as I’m concerned.

I find myself thinking about light and breezy patterns for summery garments and coverups, crafty things like bags and doll dresses, tea cozies or lacy things. With winter (in our Mountain resort town) being my really busy season both for sewing and for the yarn shop, I often find myself feeling a bit like the end of April and beginning of May exist so that I can recover from the intensity of the winter season. I still have to work and the sewing never actually stops, but it usually lightens up and I can slow down enough to realize that I’m tired. My sweetheart can tell where I am on the exhaustion scale by what and how I knit. When I don’t pick up my knitting at all, I should just go to bed… and he doesn’t hesitate to tell me so. I’ve had a whole week of not picking up my knitting at all. I had good intentions of making up a pattern this week but clearly, that didn’t happen. LOL And it’s all good. I’ve always been one to push myself hard and sometimes I just need to back off and chill. But that doesn’t stop me from thinking about knitting. Bob says that if I ever stop thinking about knitting, he’ll have to rush me to the hospital to find out what’s wrong with me. 😛

I have some lovely summery yarns in my store and I thought I’d show you them and see if I can offer some springtime inspiration. I’d love it if you would leave a comment below to suggest things that you like to knit or crochet during the warmer seasons. I am looking for some inspiration too. 🙂 I’ve been scanning ravelry.com looking for a summer shawl pattern that will work well with the Diamond Luxury Tropicalia yarn. It’s so pretty with the hint of shine from the viscose.

Anne crochet cotton

Anne Crochet Cotton: 100% Cotton; 27S X 30R on 3 – 3.5mm needles

Mulberry silk

Diamond Luxury Mulberry Silk 50% Alpaca, 25% Mulberry Silk, 25% Linen; 22S x 28R on 4mm needles

Pima colori cotton

Diamond Luxury Pima Lino Colori Cotton: 60% Pima Cotton, 40% Linen; Laceweight

Diamond Luxury summertime

Diamond Luxury Summertime: 55% Cotton, 45% Acrylic; 20S x 28R on 4 to 4.5mm needles

Diamond Luxury tropicalia

Diamond Luxury Tropicalia: 55% Cotton, 45% Viscose; 22-24S x 26 – 30R on 4mm needles

Knitca cotton

Knitca Cotton: 100% Cotton; 21S X 5R on 4mm needles

wavy cotton

Knitca Wavy: 100% Cotton; 16S X 18R on 4mm needles

Solo Cotone sock yarn

Lana Grossa Solo Cotone; 37S X 29R on 3 – 3.5mm needles

Nako Fiore

Nako Fiore: 25% Linen, 35% Cotton, 40% Bamboo; 25S X 35R on 3 – 3.5mm needles

Nako solare

Nako Solare: 100% Cotton; 25S x 37R on 2.5 – 3.5mm needles

Nova plus cotton cool

Nova Plus Cotton Cool: 100% Cotton; 18S X 24R on 4.5mm needles

Sirdar Baby Bamboo

Sirdar Baby Bamboo: 80% Bamboo, 20% Wool; 22S X 28R on 4mm needles

Supersock stretch cotton

Supersocke Cotton Stretch Uni: 41% Wool, 39% Cotton, 13% Polyamide, 7% Polyester; 30S x 42R on 2.5 – 3mm needles

There are a lot of other yarns available to satisfy all our spring and summer knitting desires. I hope this little sampling serves to inspire you. Happy Knitting!

Leave a Reply

