Up for a little Travel?

This week’s pattern, “Traveling Hand-in Hand” includes a form of cable knitting called the “Travel Stitch” or “Traveling”. I thought it would be fun to turn the travel stitch into some travelers. The dishcloth is decorated with little figures inspired by the paper chains of people we made in elementary school.

Two weeks ago I posted about the process of knitting cables. I encourage you to refer back to that blog post if you need to. I don’t want to bore you by repeating all of that today.

traveling hand in hand photo - 2

In today’s pattern you will see 1/1 LPC and 1/1 RPC. These abbreviations translate to one by one “Left Purl Cable” and “Right Purl Cable”. With traveling stitch you usually only have one knit stitch that seems to wander across the work, framed by purl stitches. Thus the “1/1”. Because of this, you do it a little differently than twists and cables. Instead of knitting all the stitches, you will be knitting one stitch and purling the other stitch.

Here’s how it works:

1/1 LPC

slip one stitch onto a cable needle (or a stitch holder or a dpn, whatever works for you). This will be your traveling knit stitch. Hold the cable needle to the front of the work. Then purl the next stitch from the left needle. Then you will knit the stitch that is on the cable needle. (You may simply knit it off the cable needle, or you can place it back onto the left needle first. I like to use a stitch holder, so I place it back on the left needle to stitch it.)

1/1 RPC

slip one stitch onto a cable needle. This will be the purl stitch that appears before your traveling knit stitch. Hold the cable needle to the back of the work. Knit the next stitch (the traveling knit stitch). Purl the stitch from the cable needle.

In order to keep from getting confused, I think of the abbreviation as left-purl-cross and right-purl-cross. The knit stitch crosses over the purl in the direction stated. (So knit stitch crossing left-wise over a purl stitch.) Hopefully that didn’t make it more confusing.

Oh and one more thing. It’s been a super hectic week and I rushed to get the sample knitted up. So I didn’t take photos of the traveling stitch break-down. I apologize that I recycled the photos from the cables and twists pattern. Just bear in mind that the photos show a 2/2 cable. The principle is the same. I don’t want you to be confused by the photos.

A note about the chart. This chart is of the entire project. I included tips in the pattern to help you navigate it. Be aware that when you work on a big chart like this, you really have to be mindful of keeping track of where you are. I encourage you to print off a copy that you can scribble on. In last week’s blog I reviewed a pattern holder. If you are using one for the first time, know that it’s super easy to accidentally bump the magnet. MARK your chart! When you finish a row, mark it in whatever way works for you. Cross that row off with a pencil or make a check mark or something. This will be especially important after the half way mark. It’s easier to work the little stick-men in the pattern when they are oriented right side up. When they are upside down, it’s not as easy to anticipate what to do next. Also, if you stop mid-row, mark how much of the row you completed so you don’t have to waste time and brain cells on figuring it out.

Hmm I think that’s about it. This pattern is definitely a little more demanding than some of the earlier ones. But I have confidence in you! Now I’m off to make myself a fresh cup of coffee before taking on the next item on my list. 🙂 Have a super week!

I hope you have fun making up this pattern.

And here is the pattern!

 

 

 

 

 

Photo Credit: cfdtfep Flickr via Compfight cc

Leave a Reply

