Slip Stitch Sampler

There are a variety of patterns that you can create using slip stitches.

I certainly haven’t incorporated them all in today’s project. But I’ve included a few variations to give you an idea of how they work and the effects you can obtain using them. They are very easy to do.

If you knitted up last week’s pattern, I hope you had fun with it. I hope you were victorious! 🙂

As with the previous patterns, this dishcloth has a seed-stitch border. I was in a hurry to get them all posted, so I haven’t been taking the time to block the projects. With dishcloths, blocking isn’t really a big deal. But it would look much nicer blocked.

Here is a link to a video that explains blocking

The first section has you slipping the stitches purlwise with the yarn kept at the back. This creates a subtle rib-like pattern. This pattern does tend to curl a bit and it also pulls together like a ribbing does.

You may have heard of something called linen stitch. It’s a very popular knitting pattern right now. It’s great because it lays flat and gives the illusion that you have woven the fabric rather than knitted it. In this technique you bring the yarn to the front before slipping the stitch purlwise.

It makes the fabric look woven.

The second pattern block of this dishcloth incorporates a variation of that. The version I did here is not as dense as linen stitch. I have you purl on the wrong side of the fabric; this spreads the “woven” look out. Linen stitch is a pattern that works well in placemats, table runners or other items that you need to lay flat on a surface.

Here is a link to a video that shows the classic linen stitch

The third (middle) section is another adaptation of the linen stitch look that results in a subtle chevron pattern.

I have been enjoying making up these patterns. It is a bit hectic to finish one per week, mind you. Right now in my store I have an over-abundance of sewing work to complete that I really have to get through. I won’t be posting a pattern for the next couple weeks so that I can get caught up in the store. I’m not sure if I’ll do a blog post on those weeks or not. I’ll see how it goes. But I should be back on track toward the end of February. When I start up with patterns again I’ll do one every other week though. 🙂

I hope you have fun making up this dishcloth pattern. I am very pleased with how it turned out. Happy knitting!

And here is the pattern!

Leave a Reply

