Knitting Looms

Maybe you love the idea of knitting, but somehow the coordination of it hasn’t clicked for you. Or maybe, you have a young person in your life who you imagine would enjoy making things out of yarn.

You might like to try a knitting alternative: the knitting loom!

Everyone has their own preference as to what works well for them. For some people, making stuff with pointy sticks or a hook and some string makes them feel good. For other people wrapping yarn on a pegged board puts a smile on their face every time. I am a firm believer that each of us needs to try things out to find that activity that will consistently turn up our personal happy-meter!

I consider myself very fortunate that I get to have conversations with yarn enthusiasts of every variety in my store. I learn so much from talking to my customers. Many of the items I sell are in my store are because a customer requested that I bring them in. Some of them, I had never heard of before. One of those items is the knitting loom. I was familiar with the little “knitting dolly”: The old wooden thread spool with a few nails in the top. We would wind the thread around the nails, flip the loops over one row at a time and watch as a thin knitted tube would emerge out of the hole in the middle of the spool. Well knitting looms are a bigger version of that little knitting dolly. They come in different shapes and sizes. Some are round, some rectangular, some have spirals and some allow for adjusting the size.

The first customer that asked me about bringing looms into my store brought a number of garments she had made on her loom to show me. I was delighted to see what was possible. She used a loom because her wrists and thumbs couldn’t take the fine motor work that knitting requires. Seeing what she had made got me curious. I checked out YouTube and found a few channels that specialize in loom knitting.  I watched video after video. From scarves to shawls to socks to hats and toys, it’s really interesting to see the level of creativity and sophistication people have applied to this craft.

What I have heard from some is that they simply started on a loom and it’s what they were comfortable with, so they just stuck with it and developed their skills. They were able to make what they wanted to on the loom and never bothered to learn to knit or crochet. Some others told me that they had tried knitting and crocheting and for one reason or another, either the coordination of it or issues with their hand mobility made it unpleasant or frustrating to knit or crochet.

So they tried looming and fell in love.

Knitting looms come in a variety of styles and sizes to accommodate anything you can dream up. I will be completely honest, I’m very much an old school knitter. I tried using a loom so that I would have a basic understanding of how it works because I need to be able to help my customers in my store. I love knitting with my circular needles and for me personally, loom knitting didn’t capture my heart. So my grasp of how to do all the amazing things possible with knitting looms is limited. And, that having said, I admire the people that have taken loom knitting to the realm of art-form. My hat is off to you!

I will include some links for anyone who is interested. Hopefully it will save you some energy.

Pretty much anything you can knit can be made on a knitting loom.

Leave a Reply

