Sirdar Snuggly Jolly Review

I recently knitted up a slouchy hat using Sirdar Snuggly Jolly (with Sirdar Snuggly DK for the trim). Jolly is a DK weight yarn with a light texture. It consists of Bamboo sourced Viscose, Acrylic and Nylon. It’s available in 8 colours in 50g balls. Sirdar has published a number of patterns specifically for this yarn. I used the diamond hat pattern from the Sirdar Bumper Book of Accessories #460. It called for DK yarn; Jolly knitted up to gauge perfectly without changing the needle sizes recommended in the pattern.

The Sirdar Bumper Book of Accessories #460 contains several hat and scarf patterns of varying degrees of difficulty. This particular hat is definitely not a beginner project. It has a fun diamond design that is knitted in and requires that you work each diamond diagonally and then connect the edges together in the following row. Don’t worry, you don’t make a bunch of little individual diamonds. You start with a 72 cast on and work the diamonds off of that. Sound confusing? Be prepared to follow the pattern closely and finish each diamond section before you walk away or you will be lost. If you don’t like picking up stitches, you won’t like this pattern. That having been said, I really enjoyed the challenge. It was actually fun for me that I couldn’t imagine how it was going to work out until I got to the second band of diamonds. You really have to trust the pattern. It’s tough to figure out where you are in the pattern if you lose track. I used a sticky note and moved it after each row. I also really needed to have it quiet around me so I could concentrate.  Typically, Sirdar patterns are knitted flat and then stitched together at the end. I personally prefer to knit in the round rather than have a seam. This is one pattern where I was glad it was flat. Once I got into it, it was really fun and quick. In the end, I really felt like I had accomplished something. I’m pleased with how it turned out and I think I may make the pattern up again in a different yarn. I think that it would be gorgeous in a solid; perhaps in a Pure Wool Superwash. Some of the effect of the diamond pattern was lost because Jolly is a busy yarn.

Sirdar Jolly is lightly textured and has an interesting combination of colours. It’s a soft yarn and is marketed for use primarily for children’s garments and accessories. I found that because of the texture, I had to be careful that I wasn’t splitting the thread as I knitted. I was fine as long as I had good lighting. Using it on this complicated pattern was a little bit tricky until I got accustomed to it. I quite like the colourful effect. I would encourage anyone using it to keep the pattern simple. It is a busy yarn. It knits up into a light and cozy fabric that feels wonderful. It paired nicely with the Sirdar Snuggly DK yarn.

20161027_152253

I recommend this yarn for people who have a bit of experience. A novice should manage it just fine, but I would discourage a beginner from using it until they have built up a bit of confidence.

2 thoughts on “Sirdar Snuggly Jolly Review

    1. Hi Maria. That’s a good question. You are more likely to have this stretching-out issue with cotton, bamboo, linen or acrylic yarns. I would recommend using a wool-blend yarn. There is also a product called “knitting elastic”. It comes on a spool like thread. You can knit this along with your yarn (it’s thin and clear and will disappear into the stitches) as you knit your ribbing. You don’t necessarily need to use it for the entire hat; you can if you like. It will give your stitches a bit more “spring back” as if you have added a little Lycra. I carry the Prym brand Knitting elastic in my store. It’s clear and comes in 200m spools and retails for between $5 and $6. I imagine that your local yarn shop would be able to bring it in for you if they don’t normally carry it. I hope this helps.

      Judy

      Like

Leave a Reply

